We all have that “stupid” moment where we think what we are saying is right when it’s not.
Once I uploaded a photo of a vegetarian pizza on my Facebook wall and described it as “vegan food for lunch”. One commenter then asked: “Vegan is not supposed to use any dairy products, how come there’s cheese on it?”
I actually wasn’t sure if I wanted to answer that but somehow; I managed with a brief one that goes: “Well, I knew of few people who are vegetarian but still use dairy products.”
But then again she insisted but this time in a much more assertive tone: “Perhaps your friends are just vegetarian and not vegan.”
Wow, what a remark! That got me really thinking. All the while I thought vegan and vegetarian are just two words with the same meaning.
Annoyed and well… a little embarrassed, I scouted the Internet to feed my inquisitive mind and what do you know… they’re indeed two different things!
Vegetarians do not eat meat, fish or poultry, but might eat dairy products such as cheese, eggs, yogurt or milk. Lacto-vegetarians will eat dairy, but not eggs. Ovo-vegetarians will eat eggs, but not dairy. Lacto-ovo vegetarians will eat eggs and dairy products. The reasons for these choices are varied and based on individual beliefs. In some cases they are based on moral choices and in others on dietary needs or simple preference.
A vegan on the other hand eliminates all animal products from his or her diet, including dairy. Those following a vegan lifestyle generally do not wear leather and avoid products made from animals such as wool, silk and down. They are self-committed to upholding a personal standard of living where animals are concerned.
WOW! So that explains it all!
And by the way, before I end this up here’s a look of that supposed Vegetarian and not Vegan pizza that I am talking about…
What do you think? 😉